Who are the members of the Chambre de recours?

Most Popular

Our discrimination case has been set down for hearing at the Chambre de Recours in Brussels on Monday 12 November.

The Complaints Board is composed of persons whose independence is beyond doubt and who are recognised as being competent in law. Only persons on a list compiled by the Court of Justice of the European Communities are eligible for membership of the Complaints Board. It is composed of six members, appointed for a period of five years.

The current members of the Complaints Board are:

  1. Chairman : Mr Henri Chavrier, Honorary President of the Bordeaux Administrative Court (France),
  2. Section Chairman : Mr Eduardo Menéndez Rexach, Magistrate, Head of Cabinet, Presidency of the Judicial power’s General Council (Spain),
  3. Mrs Evangelia Koutoupa-Rengakou, Professor of Administrative Law, Faculty of Law of the University of Thessaloniki (Greece),
  4. Mr Andreas Kalogeropoulos, former judge at the Court of First Instance of the European Communities and former Chairman of the Appeals Committee of the European Investment Bank (Greece),
  5. Mr Mario Eylert, judge at the Bundesarbeitsgericht (Federal Labour Court) (Germany),
  6. Mr Paul Rietjens, Director-General of Legal Affairs and Legal Adviser – Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (Belgium).

It should be remembered that the Complaints Board is composed of six members who, being involved in activities in different Member States, are not assigned to it exclusively and that its registry is staffed only by a part-time registrar and a legal assistant.

Till now most of the cases were about appeals lodged against decisions to refuse pupils’ enrolment application, appeals lodged against non-promotion, appeals concerning the Regulations for Members of the Seconded Staff, appeals, concerning the European Baccalaureate, appeals lodged against decisions of the Board of Governors.

Should school classes start later?

The American Academy of Pediatrics recommended in August 2014 that middle and high schools should not commence before 8:30 a.m. According to the Brookings...

Proposal for new balanced timetable

Maternell: Monday - Friday from 9.00 to 14.00 Primary: Monday and Wednesday from from 9.00 to 16.30, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday from 9.00 to 14.00. Secondary: Monday, Wednesday and Friday from from 9.00 to 16.30, Tuesday and Thursday from 9.00 to 14.00.

5 Best English and European Schools in Luxembourg

When relocating to Luxembourg, navigating the education system can feel overwhelming, especially due to the language barrier. However, there is good news. Luxembourg offers...

Is there a future for European schools?

With many problems facing the European school system and with their humongous and inefficient bureaucracy that forgets that the main goal is to provide...

Leene Soekov shows lack of awareness about SWALS

Reply from worried parent to deputy director Leene Soekov Dear Ms Soekov, Your answer is not only very worrying but it also shows the lack of...

Another example of discrimination of SWALS students

It is unbelievable how new Mamer school management doesn't have a clue about situation of minorities in the school. New secondary Deputy Director Mrs Leene...